Search by City
Search by Category


Submit Events









http://click.linksynergy.com/fs-bin/click?id=pJwFHtSvSFw&offerid=351742.10000038&type=4&subid=0



Midcentury Masters Jasper Johns' Gifts to the CMA

12/11/2018 - Jasper Johns is one of most influential American artists of the 20th century. He painted symbols like numbers and flags, things that were ordinary, things that, in his words, existed as clear facts “not involving an aesthetic hierarchy.” This radical vision led to the art movements known as minimalism and pop art. Johns grew up in South Carolina, spending much of his childhood right here in Columbia. He attended USC for a few semesters before moving to New York. Johns never forgot his home state, and in 1999 he gave the CMA 39 works from his personal collection. Some are by Johns himself; others are by artists he admired, like Josef Albers, Marcel Duchamp, Roy Lichtenstein, Robert Rauschenberg, and Andy Warhol. This unique exhibition provides insight into the mind of South Carolina’s most famous artistic son. 

Found in: Museum Events, Art Exhibitions

Time: Sun. 12 - 5 p.m., Tues. - Fri. 11 a.m. - 5 p.m., Sat. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m., Closed Mondays   Costs: Free with admission- $6 Adults, $5 Seniors, $2.50 Students, Children 6 and under - free. Also free on second Sundays.

Location:
Columbia Museum of Art
1515 Main Street, Columbia 29201

For more information call: 803-799-2810
Website: Click here
This event has multiple dates! This event also occurs on the following dates:
-   Friday, November 16, 2018
-   Saturday, November 17, 2018
-   Sunday, November 18, 2018
-   Tuesday, November 20, 2018
-   Wednesday, November 21, 2018
-   Friday, November 23, 2018
-   Saturday, November 24, 2018
-   Sunday, November 25, 2018
-   Tuesday, November 27, 2018
-   Wednesday, November 28, 2018
-   Thursday, November 29, 2018
-   Friday, November 30, 2018
-   Saturday, December 1, 2018
-   Sunday, December 2, 2018
-   Tuesday, December 4, 2018
-   Wednesday, December 5, 2018
-   Thursday, December 6, 2018
-   Friday, December 7, 2018
-   Saturday, December 8, 2018
-   Sunday, December 9, 2018
-   Wednesday, December 12, 2018
-   Thursday, December 13, 2018
-   Friday, December 14, 2018
-   Saturday, December 15, 2018
-   Sunday, December 16, 2018
-   Tuesday, December 18, 2018
-   Wednesday, December 19, 2018
-   Thursday, December 20, 2018
-   Friday, December 21, 2018
-   Saturday, December 22, 2018
-   Sunday, December 23, 2018
-   Wednesday, December 26, 2018
-   Thursday, December 27, 2018
-   Friday, December 28, 2018
-   Saturday, December 29, 2018
-   Sunday, December 30, 2018
-   Tuesday, January 1, 2019
-   Wednesday, January 2, 2019
-   Thursday, January 3, 2019
-   Friday, January 4, 2019
-   Saturday, January 5, 2019
-   Sunday, January 6, 2019
-   Tuesday, January 8, 2019
-   Wednesday, January 9, 2019
-   Thursday, January 10, 2019
-   Friday, January 11, 2019
-   Saturday, January 12, 2019
-   Sunday, January 13, 2019
-   Tuesday, January 15, 2019
-   Wednesday, January 16, 2019
-   Thursday, January 17, 2019
-   Friday, January 18, 2019
-   Saturday, January 19, 2019
-   Sunday, January 20, 2019
-   Tuesday, January 22, 2019
-   Wednesday, January 23, 2019
-   Thursday, January 24, 2019
-   Friday, January 25, 2019
-   Saturday, January 26, 2019
-   Sunday, January 27, 2019
-   Tuesday, January 29, 2019
-   Wednesday, January 30, 2019
-   Thursday, January 31, 2019
-   Friday, February 1, 2019
-   Saturday, February 2, 2019
-   Sunday, February 3, 2019
-   Tuesday, February 5, 2019
-   Wednesday, February 6, 2019
-   Thursday, February 7, 2019
-   Friday, February 8, 2019
-   Saturday, February 9, 2019
-   Sunday, February 10, 2019
-   Tuesday, February 12, 2019
-   Wednesday, February 13, 2019
-   Thursday, February 14, 2019
-   Friday, February 15, 2019
-   Saturday, February 16, 2019
-   Sunday, February 17, 2019
-   Tuesday, February 19, 2019
-   Wednesday, February 20, 2019
-   Thursday, February 21, 2019
-   Friday, February 22, 2019
-   Saturday, February 23, 2019
-   Sunday, February 24, 2019



 






About Us Advertise With Us Submit Events Contact Us Links Privacy Policy Disclaimer Site Map LeisureFun Mobile
© 2018 Legette Communications     Website and internet strategy developed by AmakerInteractive.com.
This site works best with IE 7+, Firefox, Safari or Chrome web browsers.