Search by City
Search by Category


Submit Events









http://www.LoveMakesMeSmile.com



The Ironic Curtain: Art from the Soviet Underground

6/12/2021 - The Ironic Curtain features artists who worked under political repression in the decades just before the fall of the Soviet Union, making “official” art by day and their own experimental art in secret. The results are wild and darkly witty, with symbols of the Soviet government used to parody its power rather than to celebrate it. Sots Art, a socialist version of Pop Art, is well represented in this exhibition among paintings, sculpture, prints, and photography by nearly three dozen artists, including the artist duo Komar and Melamid, Ilya Kabakov, Alexander Kosolapov, and Leonid Sokov. Having been officially repressed or relatively contained to émigré centers such as New York City, many of these works are little known, and some works in the exhibition are being shown in the United States for the first time. The CMA has organized this exhibition from the premier Neil K. Rector Collection to create this rare opportunity.  

Found in: Art Exhibitions, Museum Events

Time: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.   Costs: Free with museum admission. Adults $10 general admission; Seniors (65 and over) $8 general admission; Military $8 general admission; College Students $5 general admission; Youth (7 - 18) $5 general admission; Children (6 and under)-FREE

Location:
Columbia Museum of Art
1515 Main Street, Columbia 29201

For more information call: 803-799-2810
... Website: Click here
This event has multiple dates! This event also occurs on the following dates:
-   Saturday, May 22, 2021
-   Sunday, May 23, 2021
-   Tuesday, May 25, 2021
-   Wednesday, May 26, 2021
-   Thursday, May 27, 2021
-   Friday, May 28, 2021
-   Saturday, May 29, 2021
-   Sunday, May 30, 2021
-   Tuesday, June 1, 2021
-   Wednesday, June 2, 2021
-   Thursday, June 3, 2021
-   Friday, June 4, 2021
-   Saturday, June 5, 2021
-   Sunday, June 6, 2021
-   Tuesday, June 8, 2021
-   Wednesday, June 9, 2021
-   Thursday, June 10, 2021
-   Friday, June 11, 2021
-   Sunday, June 13, 2021
-   Tuesday, June 15, 2021
-   Wednesday, June 16, 2021
-   Thursday, June 17, 2021
-   Friday, June 18, 2021
-   Saturday, June 19, 2021
-   Sunday, June 20, 2021
-   Tuesday, June 22, 2021
-   Wednesday, June 23, 2021
-   Thursday, June 24, 2021
-   Friday, June 25, 2021
-   Saturday, June 26, 2021
-   Sunday, June 27, 2021
-   Tuesday, June 29, 2021
-   Wednesday, June 30, 2021
-   Thursday, July 1, 2021
-   Friday, July 2, 2021
-   Saturday, July 3, 2021
-   Sunday, July 4, 2021
-   Tuesday, July 6, 2021
-   Wednesday, July 7, 2021
-   Thursday, July 8, 2021
-   Friday, July 9, 2021
-   Saturday, July 10, 2021
-   Sunday, July 11, 2021
-   Tuesday, July 13, 2021
-   Wednesday, July 14, 2021
-   Thursday, July 15, 2021
-   Friday, July 16, 2021
-   Saturday, July 17, 2021
-   Sunday, July 18, 2021
-   Tuesday, July 20, 2021
-   Wednesday, July 21, 2021
-   Thursday, July 22, 2021
-   Friday, July 23, 2021
-   Saturday, July 24, 2021
-   Sunday, July 25, 2021
-   Tuesday, July 27, 2021
-   Wednesday, July 28, 2021
-   Thursday, July 29, 2021
-   Friday, July 30, 2021
-   Saturday, July 31, 2021
-   Sunday, August 1, 2021
-   Tuesday, August 3, 2021
-   Wednesday, August 4, 2021
-   Thursday, August 5, 2021
-   Friday, August 6, 2021
-   Saturday, August 7, 2021
-   Sunday, August 8, 2021
-   Tuesday, August 10, 2021
-   Wednesday, August 11, 2021
-   Thursday, August 12, 2021
-   Friday, August 13, 2021
-   Saturday, August 14, 2021
-   Sunday, August 15, 2021
-   Tuesday, August 17, 2021
-   Wednesday, August 18, 2021
-   Thursday, August 19, 2021
-   Friday, August 20, 2021
-   Saturday, August 21, 2021
-   Sunday, August 22, 2021
-   Tuesday, August 24, 2021
-   Wednesday, August 25, 2021
-   Thursday, August 26, 2021
-   Friday, August 27, 2021
-   Saturday, August 28, 2021
-   Sunday, August 29, 2021



 






About Us Advertise With Us Submit Events Contact Us Links Privacy Policy Disclaimer Site Map LeisureFun Mobile
© 2021 Legette Communications     Website and internet strategy developed by AmakerInteractive.com.
This site works best with IE 7+, Firefox, Safari or Chrome web browsers.