Search by City
Search by Category


Submit Events









http://www.LoveMakesMeSmile.com



Michael Kenna: Venezia

10/16/2021 - Taken over 20 years, this photographic series is a moody valentine to one of the most miraculous cities on Earth. Venice (Venezia in Italian) is a floating world that sits at the crossroads of the East and West. While there are millions of travel photographs of Venice in existence, artist photographer Michael Kenna infuses his with distinct magic. Prowling the city while it sleeps, he shoots in black and white. His long, extended exposures drink in the electric lights and add a blurry quality at times, capturing the buoyancy of gondolas rocking gently on the water. Elsewhere, stone sculptures twist lithely in their architectural niches. The canal is a central character in Kenna’s images. In one photo, the water appears to crawl up city steps. In many others, it atomizes, blanketing the city in a living mist. In 2021, Venice hosted the International Conference on Environment and Climate Change, and as the Earth’s waters rise, this jewel is on the frontline of a global problem. Kenna alchemically reminds us of both time and place in these photographs, and indirectly, the city’s potentially perilous fate, a result of its own beloved waters. 

Found in: Museum Events, Art Exhibitions

Time: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.   Costs: Free with the cost of museum admission. $10 general admission, $8 adults 65 and older and military, $5 college students and youth 7 - 18, free for childeren 6 and under.

Location:
Columbia Museum of Art
1515 Main Street, Columbia 29201

For more information call: (803) 799-2810
... Website: Click here
 
Switch to Virtual Street View >>
This event has multiple dates! This event also occurs on the following dates:
-   Wednesday, October 6, 2021
-   Friday, October 8, 2021
-   Saturday, October 9, 2021
-   Sunday, October 10, 2021
-   Tuesday, October 12, 2021
-   Wednesday, October 13, 2021
-   Friday, October 15, 2021
-   Sunday, October 17, 2021
-   Tuesday, October 19, 2021
-   Wednesday, October 20, 2021
-   Friday, October 22, 2021
-   Saturday, October 23, 2021
-   Sunday, October 24, 2021
-   Tuesday, October 26, 2021
-   Wednesday, October 27, 2021
-   Friday, October 29, 2021
-   Saturday, October 30, 2021
-   Sunday, October 31, 2021
-   Tuesday, November 2, 2021
-   Wednesday, November 3, 2021
-   Friday, November 5, 2021
-   Saturday, November 6, 2021
-   Sunday, November 7, 2021
-   Tuesday, November 9, 2021
-   Wednesday, November 10, 2021
-   Friday, November 12, 2021
-   Saturday, November 13, 2021
-   Sunday, November 14, 2021
-   Tuesday, November 16, 2021
-   Wednesday, November 17, 2021
-   Friday, November 19, 2021
-   Saturday, November 20, 2021
-   Sunday, November 21, 2021
-   Tuesday, November 23, 2021
-   Wednesday, November 24, 2021
-   Friday, November 26, 2021
-   Saturday, November 27, 2021
-   Sunday, November 28, 2021
-   Tuesday, November 30, 2021
-   Wednesday, December 1, 2021
-   Friday, December 3, 2021
-   Saturday, December 4, 2021
-   Sunday, December 5, 2021
-   Tuesday, December 7, 2021
-   Wednesday, December 8, 2021
-   Friday, December 10, 2021
-   Saturday, December 11, 2021
-   Sunday, December 12, 2021
-   Tuesday, December 14, 2021
-   Wednesday, December 15, 2021
-   Friday, December 17, 2021
-   Saturday, December 18, 2021
-   Sunday, December 19, 2021
-   Tuesday, December 21, 2021
-   Wednesday, December 22, 2021
-   Friday, December 24, 2021
-   Sunday, December 26, 2021
-   Tuesday, December 28, 2021
-   Wednesday, December 29, 2021
-   Friday, December 31, 2021
-   Saturday, January 1, 2022
-   Sunday, January 2, 2022
-   Tuesday, January 4, 2022
-   Wednesday, January 5, 2022
-   Friday, January 7, 2022
-   Saturday, January 8, 2022
-   Sunday, January 9, 2022
-   Tuesday, January 11, 2022
-   Wednesday, January 12, 2022
-   Friday, January 14, 2022
-   Saturday, January 15, 2022
-   Sunday, January 16, 2022
-   Tuesday, January 18, 2022
-   Wednesday, January 19, 2022
-   Friday, January 21, 2022
-   Saturday, January 22, 2022
-   Sunday, January 23, 2022
-   Tuesday, January 25, 2022
-   Wednesday, January 26, 2022
-   Friday, January 28, 2022
-   Saturday, January 29, 2022
-   Sunday, January 30, 2022
-   Tuesday, February 1, 2022
-   Wednesday, February 2, 2022
-   Friday, February 4, 2022
-   Saturday, February 5, 2022
-   Sunday, February 6, 2022
-   Tuesday, February 8, 2022
-   Wednesday, February 9, 2022
-   Friday, February 11, 2022
-   Saturday, February 12, 2022
-   Sunday, February 13, 2022
-   Tuesday, February 15, 2022
-   Wednesday, February 16, 2022
-   Friday, February 18, 2022
-   Saturday, February 19, 2022
-   Sunday, February 20, 2022
-   Tuesday, February 22, 2022
-   Wednesday, February 23, 2022
-   Friday, February 25, 2022
-   Saturday, February 26, 2022
-   Sunday, February 27, 2022
-   Tuesday, March 1, 2022
-   Wednesday, March 2, 2022
-   Friday, March 4, 2022
-   Saturday, March 5, 2022
-   Sunday, March 6, 2022
-   Tuesday, March 8, 2022
-   Wednesday, March 9, 2022
-   Friday, March 11, 2022
-   Saturday, March 12, 2022
-   Sunday, March 13, 2022



 






About Us Advertise With Us Submit Events Contact Us Links Privacy Policy Disclaimer Site Map LeisureFun Mobile
© 2021 Legette Communications     Website and internet strategy developed by AmakerInteractive.com.
This site works best with IE 7+, Firefox, Safari or Chrome web browsers.